Return to Headlines

2-12-21 — 2021 National Merit Finalists

Feb. 12, 2021 ~ The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced the names of the finalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. All 15 of the Olathe School District’s semifinalists advanced to become finalists. They are:

  • Olathe East High School: Andrea Shehi and Megan Li.
  • Olathe North High School: Wade Boohar, Michelle Chen, Arjun Garapaty, Khushi Kohli, Caleb Lim, Samuel Liu and Trisha Nair.
  • Olathe Northwest High School: Quintin McCoach, Shane McIntosh, William Morris, Alexander Pauli, Tanya Qin and Dawson Wright.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal, and earn SAT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test. The semifinalist must then submit a scholarship application, which includes the student’s essay and information about the semifinalist’s participation and leadership in school and community activities.